GoHighLevel Alternatives 2026 — The Honest Shortlist
I earn a commission if you pick GoHighLevel, so this shortlist starts with the reasons you shouldn't. Six real alternatives for 2026 — HubSpot, ClickFunnels, ActiveCampaign, Kajabi, Kartra, Keap — and the operator profile each one fits better than GHL.
I earn a commission if you pick GoHighLevel, so this list starts with the reasons you shouldn’t.
Search “GoHighLevel alternatives” and much of what you’ll find is a sales page for something else, written by someone earning a commission on that something else. Fine, as long as you know who’s talking. So here’s who’s talking: the GHL link on this page pays me, and since 2022 my day job has included GoHighLevel funnels, CRM and automation for med spas and local service businesses.
Disclosure: I earn a commission if you sign up for GoHighLevel through links on this page. How that works is in the editorial policy.
That’s why this GHL alternatives 2026 list is built on features and published prices, not hands-on claims about other tools. For some readers, the right answer is a cheaper tool that does a third of the job, and that’s fine. If you’d rather read the case for GHL first, the full review and the marketing automation fundamentals pillar cover it.
Why people look for GoHighLevel alternatives in the first place
Almost every “should I leave?” conversation comes down to one of three things. If you know which one is yours, you can skip straight to the section that answers it.
The bill is bigger than the pricing page
GoHighLevel’s plans are $97 (Starter), $297 (Unlimited) and $497 (Agency Pro) a month on monthly billing, per its own pricing page. The catch: the plan isn’t the bill. SMS, calls, email and AI features all bill on usage, on top of the subscription. AI Employee is $50 (Growth) or $97 (Unlimited) a month per enabled sub-account. The HIPAA compliance add-on is listed at $297 a month. If you’re an agency, those lines multiply fast. Illustrative maths: ten sub-accounts with AI Employee Unlimited switched on is $970 a month before a single text goes out.
None of that is hidden. It’s just not on the page where you made the decision. The full line-by-line breakdown is in what the GHL bill actually says.
→ Jump to If cost is the reason, try this first.
The learning curve is real
GHL does a lot — CRM, pipelines, funnels, SMS, calendars, memberships, workflows, reputation, sub-accounts — and every one of those is something to set up. You open a fresh account, scroll a long left-hand menu, and realise “easy” was doing a lot of work in the sales video.
A narrower tool with a shorter menu can be the honest answer. Choosing your first automation tool walks through that trade-off.
→ Jump to ActiveCampaign, Kajabi or Keap.
A niche feature you need sits elsewhere, or costs extra
Sometimes the reason is one specific requirement. Healthcare is the common one. GHL’s pricing page lists HIPAA compliance as a $297/mo add-on, and what a compliant setup involves is covered in the HIPAA-compliant CRM shortlist. For a small practice that’s a real line item. The other version is enterprise B2B: deep sales reporting and forecasting for a team of reps, where HubSpot was built to win.
→ Jump to HubSpot.
How I compared them (and what this list doesn’t claim)
This is a desk comparison: published prices, plan limits and help-center documentation, read side by side. It doesn’t claim hands-on time with every tool, and it doesn’t rank them. Each tool is scored on the same columns you’ll see in the table:
- Starting price: the cheapest plan on monthly billing, with the plan name. If the price tiers by contacts, the contact count it assumes.
- Best for: one reader profile, drawn from the sourced facts.
- CRM depth: a 0–3 score.
0= no CRM.1= a contact list with tags or segments.2= adds pipelines or deals.3= adds automation triggered by pipeline stage changes. The jump from 2 to 3 is the one that matters. A pipeline you update by hand is a spreadsheet; a pipeline that fires the next step when a deal moves is a system. (More on that in pipelines that predict revenue and the CRM and lead management pillar.) - Two-way SMS: native, integration, add-on or no, plus whether it’s usage-billed.
- Funnels / pages: native funnels, landing pages only, or no.
- Courses: native or not, and on which plan.
- White-label / client accounts: whether you can run client accounts or resell under your own brand.
Prices and plan limits were checked in Oct 2026 on each vendor’s own pricing page, at monthly billing unless I say otherwise. ActiveCampaign is the exception: its page only shows yearly billing. The general rules for how comparisons work on this site are on the method page, and the money side is in the editorial policy.
HubSpot: when it’s the better pick
Better than GHL if…
- You run a B2B sales team with formal pipelines. HubSpot’s sales tooling is built around reps, deals and forecasting. Sales Hub Starter alone allows up to 15 pipelines per account (HubSpot pricing).
- You want to start at $0. HubSpot’s free plan is listed at $0/mo for up to 2 users (HubSpot pricing). It’s a real starting CRM for a two-person team that mostly needs contact records and email.
- Your buyers already expect HubSpot. If the integrations your sales team relies on are built for HubSpot first, the platform choice may already be made for you.
Where it falls short of GHL
Texting is the clearest gap. SMS marketing requires Marketing Hub Professional or Enterprise plus a paid Marketing SMS add-on, and sends only from US numbers (HubSpot knowledge base). The second gap is agencies. HubSpot runs a Solutions Partner Program for agencies, but it’s not white-label reselling — you’re a HubSpot partner, not a software brand.
Starting price
Free at $0/mo for up to 2 users. Starter lists at $20/mo per seat; new customers currently get $10/mo per seat paid monthly or $7/mo per seat paid annually, as a limited-time offer. Marketing Hub Professional is $890/mo paid monthly or $800/mo paid annually, and both options are an annual commitment. It includes 3 core seats (extra seats from $50/mo paid monthly, $45/mo paid annually), plus a required one-time $3,000 onboarding fee (Marketing Hub pricing, checked Oct 2026).
The long version, including the decision tree, is in GoHighLevel vs HubSpot.
ClickFunnels: when it’s the better pick
ClickFunnels describes its CRM as “the CRM that puts your funnel first” (ClickFunnels CRM), and that’s the honest summary. If your business is one offer sold through one well-built funnel, and you already have a follow-up process you like, ClickFunnels is built around exactly that job.
Better than GHL if…
- The funnel is the business. Every ClickFunnels plan lists unlimited funnels (flagged as a limited-time offer), A/B testing and courses (ClickFunnels pricing).
- You run several brands, not several clients. Plans include separate brand workspaces: 1 on Launch, 5 on Scale, 10 on Optimize.
Where it falls short of GHL
SMS runs through MessageHub, which connects to Twilio or Bandwidth for texting (ClickFunnels help center). That makes it an integration, not built-in carrier service. Its pipeline lives in the Opportunities app, but the pricing table lists 1 CRM pipeline and no Appointments app on Launch. Client workspaces need its separate Agency Plan (Agency App guide), and the CRM page doesn’t mention white-label.
Starting price
Launch is $97/mo on monthly billing ($81/mo billed annually), with 10K email contacts and 2 team members. Scale is $197/mo and Optimize $297/mo (ClickFunnels pricing). Notice those numbers: Launch is the same sticker as GHL Starter, and Optimize matches GHL Unlimited. On ClickFunnels, the choice is less about price and more about what you get for it.
The head-to-head is in GoHighLevel vs ClickFunnels, and the wider funnel strategy is in sales funnels that convert.
ActiveCampaign: when it’s the better pick
Better than GHL if…
- You’re email-first and plan to stay that way. If your business runs on newsletters, nurture sequences and segmentation, and texting is a “maybe later”, ActiveCampaign’s entry price is hard to argue with. Starter is $15/mo for 1,000 contacts, billed yearly (ActiveCampaign pricing).
- You want deal automation without moving everything else. With the Pipelines add-on, a deal changing stage can trigger an automation (ActiveCampaign help). That’s a full 3 on the CRM-depth scale, once the add-on is in place.
If email is the whole game, email deliverability in 2026 matters more than any platform choice. Read that before you migrate anything.
Where it falls short of GHL
Most of the things GHL bundles are add-ons here. Pipelines and deals need the Pipelines add-on on Plus or above, and Starter doesn’t include them. SMS is a separate add-on too. Two-way texting through the SMS Inbox needs a dedicated, registered number in the US, UK or Australia (ActiveCampaign help). Landing pages start on Plus. Stack Plus, Pipelines and SMS, and the add-on column fills up fast.
Starting price
Prices tier by contacts, so here they are at 1,000 contacts. The pricing page shows yearly billing only, with no monthly option on the page: Starter $15/mo, Plus $49/mo, Pro $79/mo, Enterprise $145/mo, each “billed yearly” (ActiveCampaign pricing, checked Oct 2026). At 2,500 contacts, Starter goes to $39/mo and Plus to $95/mo, also billed yearly. Starter and Plus include 1 user seat; Pro includes 3.
Kajabi: when it’s the better pick
Better than GHL if…
- You sell courses and digital products, and that’s the business. Kajabi is built around the product storefront, and every plan includes unlimited funnels, landing pages and marketing emails (Kajabi pricing). If you’re a course creator who never needed a sales pipeline, the GoHighLevel vs Kajabi question usually answers itself. Pick the tool shaped like your business.
- You’d rather your CRM stay simple. Kajabi’s Contacts tab is its built-in CRM: contacts, segments, filters and tags (Kajabi help). For a creator, that’s often all the CRM there is to need.
Where it falls short of GHL
The help center describes contacts, tags and segments, not a sales pipeline. I couldn’t find a documented deals or pipeline feature, so it scores a 1 here. Texting is the other gap: Kajabi’s pricing page doesn’t list SMS or a two-way text inbox on any plan (Kajabi pricing). If you want courses plus booking, texting and pipelines in one place, membership sites in GHL shows what the native GHL version looks like.
Starting price
Basic is $179/mo on monthly billing ($143/mo billed annually), with 5 products, 2,500 contacts and 2 admin users. Growth is $249/mo, and Pro is $499/mo (Kajabi pricing).
Kartra: when it’s the better pick
Better than GHL if…
- You’re a creator or small business that wants pages, email, SMS and courses under one login, at a smaller scope. Kartra’s Starter plan includes unlimited email and SMS, unlimited pages and products, unlimited memberships/courses, calendars and 5 team members (Kartra pricing).
- You want the lowest entry price of the bundled tools here. Essentials is $59/mo, though it’s tightly capped (more below).
- You do setup work for a handful of clients. Kartra Agency lets you create or connect client accounts from inside your own (Kartra help).
Where it falls short of GHL
Kartra documents lead management, but I couldn’t find a documented deals pipeline with stage-triggered automation, so it scores a 1 on CRM depth until that’s confirmed. Its pricing page bundles SMS into “unlimited email & SMS” on Starter and above, but doesn’t say whether replies come back into a two-way inbox. The Agency help doc doesn’t mention white-labeling, so treat it as client-account management, not reselling.
Starting price
Essentials is $59/mo on monthly billing ($52/mo billed annually), with 500 contacts, 10,000 emails a month, 5 pages, 1 product and 1 course. Starter is $119/mo (2,500 contacts), Growth $229/mo (12,500 contacts), and Professional $549/mo (25,000 contacts) (Kartra pricing).
Keap: when it’s the better pick
Better than GHL if…
- You run a service business and want one package with a short menu. Keap sells one platform at one starting price, with no tier ladder to decode (Keap pricing). It covers a sales pipeline with automation at each stage, email automation, landing pages and multi-page sales funnels. That’s a 3 on CRM depth.
- You want texting included from day one. A Tier 1 bundle of 500 messages and 100 voice minutes is included with the subscription (US only). When a contact replies to a text broadcast, you can reply to them individually.
On the GoHighLevel vs Keap question, it usually comes down to this. Keap gives you one package to learn. GHL gives you more surface area and agency tooling.
Where it falls short of GHL
The pricing page doesn’t mention hosting courses or memberships for your customers (Keap Academy is training for Keap users), and it doesn’t describe white-label or client sub-accounts. The partner program is listed, but not what it includes. Pricing also needs a closer read. The base includes 2 users, extra users are $39/mo, contacts are priced in tiers, and the page says “required implementation services” apply without listing a price.
Starting price
$299/mo billed monthly, or $2,988/year billed annually, with 2 user licenses included (Keap pricing). The page doesn’t state the contact count behind the $299 figure. Enter your own on the slider.
The whole shortlist on one screen
| Tool | Starting price (monthly billing) | Best for | CRM depth (0–3) | Two-way SMS | Funnels / pages | Courses | White-label / client accounts | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoHighLevel | Starter, $97/mo | Agencies and multi-channel service businesses | 3 | Native, usage-billed | Native | Native (memberships) | Yes — unlimited sub-accounts from Unlimited ($297/mo); white-label desktop app; SaaS Mode on Agency Pro ($497/mo) | [1] |
| HubSpot | Free, $0 (2 users); Starter $20/mo per seat list ($10 new-customer, paid monthly) | B2B teams with formal sales pipelines | 2 on Starter, 3 on Pro | Add-on (Marketing Hub Pro+, US numbers) | Landing pages | Not on pricing page | Partner program (no white-label) | [2] |
| ClickFunnels | Launch, $97/mo | One offer, one funnel, funnel-first sellers | 2 | Integration (Twilio/Bandwidth via MessageHub) | Native, unlimited funnels | Native, all plans (3 on Launch) | Brand workspaces; client workspaces on Agency Plan; no white-label | [3] |
| ActiveCampaign | Starter, $15/mo at 1,000 contacts (billed yearly; no monthly price shown) | Email-first marketers | 1 on Starter; 3 with Pipelines add-on (Plus+) | Add-on; two-way inbox needs a registered number | Landing pages (Plus+) | Not on pricing page | Not on pricing page | [4] |
| Kajabi | Basic, $179/mo | Course creators without a sales team | 1 | Not on pricing page | Native, unlimited | Native (5 products on Basic) | Not on pricing page | [5] |
| Kartra | Essentials, $59/mo (500 contacts) | Creators wanting one login, smaller scope | 1 | SMS included Starter+; two-way not stated | Native (5 pages on Essentials) | Native (1 on Essentials, unlimited Starter+) | Agency client accounts; white-label not stated | [6] |
| Keap | $299/mo (2 users) | Service businesses wanting one simple package | 3 | Native, US; Tier 1 included, reply-to-broadcast | Landing pages + sales funnels | Not on pricing page | Partner program; white-label not stated | [7] |
Prices and plan limits checked Oct 2026 on each vendor’s own pricing page. Vendors change plans often, so check before you buy. “Not on pricing page” means the vendor’s pricing page didn’t list it when checked. It doesn’t mean the feature doesn’t exist.
When GoHighLevel is still the answer
Here’s where the alternatives run out. It’s not because they’re weaker products. It’s because they were built for a different shape of business.
Agencies managing client accounts
If you’re the agency, the question isn’t “which CRM?” It’s “how do I run fifteen client CRMs without losing my weekends?” GHL’s sub-account model answers that directly. Each client gets its own sub-account, and snapshots — reusable templates that copy a sub-account’s setup (workflows, funnels, calendars, forms) into new or existing sub-accounts — let you launch the same build for a new client instead of rebuilding it. That’s why so many searches for alternatives to HighLevel for agencies end back where they started. On the table above, no other tool combined client sub-accounts with white-label on its pricing or partner pages. Plan choice matters here. Starter vs Unlimited vs Agency Pro walks through which tier fits which agency.
Multi-location businesses
Run three clinics, five franchise units or two service territories, and you need separate calendars, numbers, pipelines and reviews per location, plus a view across all of them. That’s the same sub-account structure an agency uses, pointed at your own locations instead of clients. If you’ve ever faked this in a single-account CRM with tags, you know how it ends.
Reselling software (SaaS Mode)
SaaS Mode — which GHL’s pricing page describes as turning HighLevel into your own sellable software product — is plan-gated to Agency Pro at $497/mo. Agency Pro also rebills phone and email usage with your own markup; Unlimited rebills them with no markup. Whether reselling makes sense for you is a business decision, and nothing here promises what it earns. But if it’s on your roadmap, none of the six alternatives above lists an equivalent on its pricing page. The real monthly cost of running it is in the GHL pricing breakdown.
If cost is the reason, try this first
Before you take on a migration, rule out the cheaper fix. In my experience, “GHL is too expensive” often turns out to be “I’m on the wrong plan with the wrong add-ons switched on”. So before you go looking for a cheaper alternative to GoHighLevel, run three checks.
- Right-size the plan. If you run one business, not client accounts, Starter at $97/mo may cover what you use. The plan picker asks a few questions and tells you which tier fits.
- Audit the usage line. AI Employee billed per sub-account, SMS segments and email volume are where bills drift. Put your real volumes into the true-cost calculator and see which line is actually doing the damage.
- Count what you’d replace. If leaving GHL means adding a scheduler, an SMS tool and a funnel builder back to your stack, the “cheaper” tool may not stay cheaper. The stack calculator adds that up for a stated scenario.
If all three checks still point at the door, good. You’ve earned a clean decision, and one of the six tools above probably fits better. That beats staying put out of inertia.
FAQ
What is better than GoHighLevel? Nothing is better across the board. It depends on the job. If you’re email-first, ActiveCampaign fits better. If you sell courses and don’t need a sales pipeline, Kajabi fits better. If you want a simpler CRM in one package for a service business, Keap fits better. GoHighLevel stays ahead when you need two-way SMS, pipelines, funnels and client sub-accounts in the same account.
Is there a cheaper alternative to GoHighLevel? Yes, if your needs are narrower. As checked on each vendor’s pricing page in Oct 2026: ActiveCampaign Starter is $15/mo for 1,000 contacts, billed yearly; Kartra Essentials is $59/mo on monthly billing; HubSpot Starter lists at $20/mo per seat, with new-customer pricing of $10/mo per seat paid monthly. GHL Starter is $97/mo on monthly billing. Each cheaper plan covers less: no pipelines on ActiveCampaign Starter, 500 contacts on Kartra Essentials, and per-seat pricing on HubSpot. Run your own numbers in the true-cost calculator before you switch.
Is there a free alternative to GoHighLevel? HubSpot has a free plan, listed at $0/mo for up to 2 users on its pricing page (checked Oct 2026). It’s a starting CRM, not a GHL replacement. Free email sends carry HubSpot branding, email automation is limited to a single automated action, and marketing SMS needs Marketing Hub Professional or Enterprise.
Is GoHighLevel worth it for a small business? It depends on whether you’ll actually use the CRM, two-way SMS and automation. If you only need email newsletters or a course storefront, a narrower tool costs less. If you’ll run follow-up across text, email and booking from one inbox, the $97 Starter plan may be enough. The plan picker walks through it in a few questions. Remember that usage like SMS and email bills on top of the plan.
What’s the best GoHighLevel alternative for agencies? If you need client sub-accounts and white-label, there’s rarely a real alternative. Of the six tools here, Kartra and ClickFunnels (on its Agency Plan) offer client accounts, and HubSpot runs a Solutions Partner program, but none showed white-label reselling on its pricing or help pages when checked in Oct 2026. That’s where GoHighLevel usually stays the answer.
So, should you leave?
I opened by telling you I earn a commission if you pick GoHighLevel. Here’s the honest flip side. That commission is worth nothing to me if you end up on a tool shaped wrong for your business and cancel in a few months. If you’re email-first, look at ActiveCampaign. If you sell courses, look at Kajabi. If you want one simple package for a service business, look at Keap. If you’re running clients, locations or a software resale, the reasons to leave probably weren’t reasons. They were a plan and a usage line that needed fixing.
Which of the three brought you here — the bill, the learning curve or the missing feature? Answer that first. The tool usually follows.
Sources (each checked Oct 2026 on the vendor’s own site)
- GoHighLevel — pricing, snapshots; usage, AI Employee and HIPAA figures as summarised in GHL pricing 2026
- HubSpot — pricing, Marketing Hub pricing, SMS setup, partner programs
- ClickFunnels — pricing, CRM, MessageHub SMS inbox, Agency App
- ActiveCampaign — pricing, SMS Inbox, automation triggers
- Kajabi — pricing, Contacts tab
- Kartra — pricing, Kartra Agency
- Keap — pricing
More comparisons: every GHL pricing, comparison and review post, side by side.
Free PDF · No signup tricks
Free: The GHL Workflow Playbook
7 battle-tested GoHighLevel workflows you can steal today. No fluff, no upsell.
Delivered to your inbox in 60 seconds. Unsubscribe anytime.
Keep reading